STEM Communities Leadership

Leadership Overview

The STEM Communities Project involves collaborative leadership from the project team, faculty who serve as course redesign team leaders, and undergraduate students who serve as Learning Assistant advisory committee members. These 3 branches are reflected in the 3 puzzle pieces in our project logo.

Project Team - Senior Personnel

Dr. Heather Galloway

Principal Investigator

Dean, Honors College
512.245.2266
galloway@txstate.edu


Dr. Li Feng

Co-Principal Investigator

Professor, Finance and Economics
512.245.8462
li.feng@txstate.edu


Dr. Alice Olmstead

Co-Principal Investigator

Assistant Professor, Physics
512.245.0587
alice.olmstead@txstate.edu


Dr. Eleanor Close

Co-Principal Investigator

Associate Professor, Physics
512.245.8664
eclose@txstate.edu


Dr. Cynthia Luxford

Co-Principal Investigator

Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
512.245.1290
cluxford@txstate.edu


Dr. Charles Ramey II

Postdoctoral Researcher

Honors College
c.ramey@txstate.edu

Project Team - Student Researchers

Daniel Payan
Undergraduate Researcher

Faculty Team Leaders

Biology

BIO 1330 - Functional Biology

Dr. Erica Nierth
Senior Lecturer
erica.nierth@txstate.edu

BIO 1331 - Organismal Biology

Dr. Andrea Aspbury
Senior Lecturer
aspbury@txstate.edu
 

Chemistry & Biochemistry

CHEM 1341 - General Chemistry I

Duke Willoughby
Lecturer
tvp20@txstate.edu

CHEM 3375 - Principles of Biochemistry

Dr. Karen Lewis
Associate Professor
karen.lewis@txstate.edu

Mathematics

MATH 2472 - Calculus II

Dr. Iván Ojeda-Ruiz
Senior Lecturer
ojeda@txstate.edu

Dr. Cody Patterson
Assistant Professor
codypatterson@txstate.edu

Physics

PHYS 1335 - General Physics I for Life Sciences Majors

Dr. Brandon Lunk
Senior Lecturer
brlunk@txstate.edu

Undergraduate Student Leaders

Fall 2022 Learning Assistant Advisory Committee

Iman Nash

Animal science (pre-vet) major,
Psychology minor
ihn2@txstate.edu

Alexis Kerr

Biology major,
Sociology minor
ahk22@txstate.edu

Lauren Spencer

Biology major,
Business administration minor
lspencer@txstate.edu

Project Leadership Alumni

Project Team Alumni

Egla Ochoa-Madrid
Public Relations Lead

Dr. Mavreen Rose Tuvilla
Postdoctoral Researcher

Babitha Govindaiah
Graduate Research Assistant

Hannah Castro
Undegraduate Researcher

Dr. Brianne Gutmann
Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr. Amreen Nasim Thompson
Postdoctoral Researcher

Alexander Vasquez
Undergraduate Researcher

Dr. Jiwoo An Pierson
Postdoctoral Researcher

Venkata Sowjanya Koka
Graduate Research Assistant

Itzel Herrera
Undergraduate Researcher

 

Learning Assistant Advisory Committee Alumni

Venus Stanton
Spring 2022

Teresa Luna
Spring 2022

Bridget Bangert
Spring 2022

Chloe Hansom
Spring 2022

External Advisors

External Evaluator

Dr. Kavita Mittapalli
CEO, MN Associates, Inc.
Website

Advisory Board

Dr. Tessa Andrews
Associate Professor, Genetics
University of Georgia
Website

Dr. Araceli Martinez Ortiz
Professor, Biomedical Engineering & Chemical Engineering / Interdisciplinary Learning & Teaching
University of Texas - San Antonio
Website

Dr. Daniel Reinholz
Associate Professor, Mathematics & Statistics
San Diego State University
Website

Dr. Mel Sabella
Professor, Physics
Chicago State University
Website

Additional support for the STEM Communities Project is provided by Honors College staff.